lost in paradise

Meet 78 year-old Masafumi Nagasaki-san living all by himself, in complete harmony with nature, on Sotobanari Island located in the south of Okinawa prefecture.

For 20 years now, Nagasaki chose to live a peaceful and quiet life on this “outer distant island” (Sotobanari translation) where there’s absolutely no other human being and where no fishermen dares to throw their nests.

“One of the reasons I came here is because of the trash. It even drifts all the way out here. Man-made trash.”

This 27 minute-heartwarming documentary shows you how the naked man lives alone on this beautiful and harsh island, and why did he choose to do so.

“I don’t do what society tells me, but I do follow the rules of the natural world. You can’t beat nature so you just have to obey it completely. That’s what I learned when I came here, and that’s probably why I get by so well.”

Nagasaki tells us he experienced a lot of difficult situations, especially in the beginning, but took them as meaningful challenges, as a way to always learn more and be aware of everything, especially if you want to survive. A great motivational story.

“Sometimes, when I’m up on the mountains, I look down and see a simulacrum of myself.

When the simulacrum appears small, it means I’m in tune with nature. If it seems too large, then it’s a sign that my presence is getting too big on this island.

Ideally I should look like a tiny grain of rice, as small as possible. That’s how it should be, living here in nature. If I get full of myself, nature will find some way of putting me in my place right away, so that I blend in.”

Watch this cool documentary by reporter Yuka Uchida here.

Leave a comment